Free Printable · Home · Moving · Uncategorized

Making Big Changes In Our Lives

Our family has made a major decision, and I wanted to start this blog as a record of it. We currently reside in the Los Angeles area and this summer we will be relocating to the Washington, DC area. A huge move for us, especially with two young kiddos. Currently my life is full of boxes, ones that are coming with us and others for yard sale, donation and trash.

As I am going room to room I can not help to think about how much of these items are going to end up in the trash! It saddens me to see our house was filled with so much stuff that now is in the dumpster. We have been packing one or two boxes a week and at first I used a non brand packaging tape that started to peel off! So if you don’t want that happening to you try the following tape.

If you are looking for more moving tips, or hacks check out my “Lets Move” Pinterest board:

https://www.pinterest.com/momoftwinz2011/lets-move/?eq=move&etslf=31086

I also created a Moving Budget Worksheet printable that I am currently using to keep our funds in check. I hope you will be able to use it as well!

moving_budget_worksheet
Free Moving Budget Printable

Moving Budget Worksheet

Happy moving and thanks or stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Making Big Changes In Our Lives

  1. Moving sucks! I recently just moved from Chicago to LA (a big move as well!) It was so sad to leave so much stuff behind. I couldn’t bring myself to throw away things that were perfectly good. Check with your local Goodwill, or other thrift stores or donation centers before throwing things away. I feel like donating unwanted things is a win-win situation for everyone involved! 😊

    If you wanna be really fancy, you can use color-coding to easily spot different categories. For example “living room” gets red, “bathroom” gets blue, etc. Or you can use colors to easily spot fragile or “this side up” boxes.

    Also, I always feel like stuff inexplicably goes missing when you move. I don’t know how, but it happens. 😂 To try to safeguard against this (and for insurance purposes), I numbered each box and wrote down a list of all items inside each box.

    Oh! Just one more thing– pack yourself a “Day One” box. Fill it with essentials that you will need your first day in your new home, that way you don’t have to go digging through all the boxes. We filled ours with things like toilet paper, dish soap, bleach wipes, shampoo, body wash, hand soap, paper towels, paper plates (day one was pizza night!), etc. We also packed small weekender bags so we would have clean clothes at our fingertips, too.

    Sorry for the novel… these are just some things that made our move a million times smoother. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for all the good advice! Yes I have a few of those things in motion already! We have decided to go with a POD for our stuff, and transport our two cars and we are “leaving on a jet plane” just one month left! Getting so close, I cant wait.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

