Home · Moving

We have officially moved to VA!

Hey everyone! I have been on hiatus because we have finally arrived in VA and have officially gotten all unpacked. We are so excited for this new adventure to begin. Today I’m going to share my thoughts on the Uhaul Ubox (this is entirely my own opinion, they did not ask me to review them or post anything about Uhual or the Ubox).  First of all, for us, this was the most economical way for our family to move. I received quotes for a moving company, Pods, Ubox and Uhaul moving truck and the Ubox was the cheapest at just below $1400 for a cross country move. Below are some pictures of the Ubox so that you all can see the inside and outside.

The Ubox came with 30 moving blankets as well. For us this was way too much blankets, but we didn’t have a lot of breakable items.  The size was fine, but we did have to leave some things behind that just did not fit. We lived in a 2 bedroom apartment and did not bring any furniture except for a single door refrigerator and an Ikea Trofast storage center (the one that looks like stairs). We did bring my DH wheels though, in the picture above there is one, we brought 4, so they took up a lot of space, but I would think equivalent to one bed or a couch. With the price and size in mind, I think a Pod would be a better pick, since it is about 2 feet bigger than the Ubox I think we wouldn’t have had to leave our items behind. The only downfall with the Pod was that it needed to be dropped off and then picked up by the Pods company and since we lived in an apartment, there just wasn’t a place to put the Pod, so sadly we couldn’t have used that service, though I would have preferred it.

If you are thinking of moving or looking for a storage unit, overall the Ubox was a great option and I am very satisfied with the quality, service and price from Uhaul.

Hope you all drop by again, I have some transformation photos to show you of our kids shared bedroom makeover! I can not wait to share!

2 thoughts on “We have officially moved to VA!

Leave a comment